Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation LinksStreets and Roadways


DDOT has adopted a Functional Street Classification Plan based on traffic volumes, land use, and expected growth. Each classification has design criteria that maintains and protects the primary purpose of the roadway. The five functional highway systems are:
  • Freeways
  • Principal arterials (streets)
  • Minor arterials (streets)
  • Collector streets
  • Local streets

Procedures & Services

Residents may request pothole and street repair services by calling the Mayor's Citywide Call Center at 311 or by completing a service request using 311 Online.

All private roadways connecting to DDOT maintained public roads shall be constructed to DDOT's standards, if the roadways are to be dedicated to the District.

See Also

​Legal References

​Design Standards & Specifications

​Transportation Plans & Studies

​Other Resources

Page Last Updated: September 25, 2014